Our Government

The Mille Lacs Band’s government is based on a separation of powers – similar to the United States government – to help ensure proper checks and balances. The legislative branch enacts laws that regulate the Band’s affairs and appropriates money for Band programs and services. The executive branch, led by the Chief Executive, implements Band laws and administers the Band’s programs and services. The judicial branch, or Tribal Court, upholds the Band’s laws and ensures justice is served equally to all Band members. The Band’s tribal government employs approximately 700 people full time.

As a sovereign government, the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe is responsible for providing services to meet the needs of its people, much like the State of Minnesota does for its residents. The Chief Executive appoints Commissioners to run Executive Branch departments, which provide services to Band members.

The Legislative Branch, also called the Band Assembly, is made up of three District Representatives and a Secretary/Treasurer, who is also the Speaker of the Band Assembly. The Legislative Branch also passes laws, allocates revenue, and ratifies appointments of commissioners.

The Judicial Branch interprets laws and hears appeals from the Band’s District Court.

To learn more, see the links below.

Executive Branch

Legislative Branch

Judicial Branch

Office of Management and Budget

Office of the Solicitor General

Executive Branch Departments:

Department of Administration

Department of Health and Human Services

Department of Natural Resources

Department of Education

Department of Corporate Affairs

Department of Community Development

Department of Justice

 About the Mille Lacs Band