Community Development

The Community Development department strives to provide development and improvement services that promote safety, security, and cultural sensitivity while building communities.

The Community Development Department is in charge of housing and other construction projects, roads, and infrastructure, including water and sewer. The department is supervised by the Commissioner of Community Development, who is appointed by the Chief Executive and ratified by the Band Assembly. The current Commissioner of Community Development is Percy Benjamin.

FOR HOUSING EMERGENCIES, CALL 866-822-8538 (Press 1, 2 or 3 for respective districts).

For information on the 2016 Contractor Open House, click here.

For information about the departments within Community Development, click on the following links:

Public Works Department

Project Management

Housing Department

Community Development leadership:

Percy Benjamin, Commissioner of Community Development: 320-532-7508,

Pete Nayquonabe, Executive Director: 320-532-7489,

Maia Satterlund, Receptionist: 320-532-7448,

Community Development Overview

  • Infographic (Some parts of this infographic are out of date but it shows the general outline of the Community Development budget and duties.)

Community Development Policies

Applications in Community Development

Solid Waste Service

[Note: Solid waste service is available to those living within Public Works service areas.]

Tribal Government home